FIA GT World Cup – Things You Should Know

The FIA GT World Cup is a motor race organised by the world’s leading motor sports governing body, the association Internationale de l’Automobile (FIA). Held annually since 2018, the event takes place at the Macau Grand Prix Circuit in Macau, located in the Macau Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China.

History of the Race

The inaugural edition of the FIA GT World Cup was held in November 2018 and was won by Maro Engel from Germany in a Mercedes-AMG GT3. The event replaced the FIA GT1 World Championship which was originally held between 2010 and 2012 as an international GT1 racing series.

Race Format

The race consists of two stages: a qualifying race and a main race. The qualifying race is held on the Saturday before the main race, and helps the drivers to determine their starting position on the grid for the main race. The main race, held the following day, is a three-hour endurance race which features two mandatory pit stops for tyre changes and driver changes. The winner of the main race is crowned the FIA GT World Cup champion.

Rules and Regulations

The FIA GT World Cup is an ‘invitational’ event, which means that only drivers and teams who have been invited to race by the FIA can participate. Drivers must compete in current FIA-homologated GT cars, as specified by the regulations.

In order to ensure a fair race, all GT cars taking part in the event must comply with the Balance of Performance regulations, which are carefully monitored by the FIA. These regulations ensure that all cars are balanced in terms of speed and performance.


The winner of the race is awarded the FIA GT World Cup trophy, along with the honour of being crowned world champion. They also receive a cash prize.

Notable Drivers

Notable drivers who have taken part in the FIA GT World Cup include:

  • Maro Engel: Winner of the inaugural FIA GT World Cup race in 2018
  • Rob Huff: 3-time champion of the FIA World Touring Car Championship
  • Edoardo Mortara: Winner of the FIA GT World Cup in 2019
  • Augusto Farfus: Two-time winner of the FIA GT World Cup

The FIA GT World Cup is a thrilling motor race with a lot of history and a long list of talented drivers who have taken part in the event. If you’re a motor racing fan, the FIA GT World Cup is definitely worth checking out.

Certified Pre owned 2018 Porsche Macan Turbo

Latest Posts